The Meaning of the Root Chakra Symbol

Muladhara, root chakra symbol

The chakra system has its roots in the ancient Vedic tradition of India and is a fundamental aspect of the spiritual and energetic anatomy of the human body. As the first of the seven primary chakras, the Root Chakra, also known as Muladhara, plays a crucial role in our sense of security, stability, and groundedness.

It is always colored red, because this is the color of vitality and awakening.

In Hindu lore it states that Shiva, who is the deity of both destruction and regeneration, as well as the “Master of Animals”, holds power over the root chakra.

Symbology in the Muladhara Design

The Muladhara is comprised of 3 main parts.

The Four-Petaled Lotus

The lotus flower is a common motif in Eastern spiritual traditions and is often associated with spiritual awakening, enlightenment, and purity. In the Root Chakra symbol, the lotus has four petals, each representing a different aspect of our physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual lives.

The four petals correspond to the four fundamental human desires: the desire for food (physical sustenance), the desire for sleep (rest and rejuvenation), the desire for pleasure, and the desire for self-preservation (safety and security).

The Square

At the center of the four-petaled lotus, there is a square, which symbolizes the earth element and our connection to the physical world. The square represents stability, structure, and solidity – all qualities that are essential for maintaining a grounded and balanced existence.

The four sides of the square also correspond to the four cardinal directions (north, south, east, and west), emphasizing the importance of our spatial awareness and our ability to navigate through life with a sense of direction and purpose.

The Downward-Pointing Triangle

Within the square lies a downward-pointing triangle, symbolizing the downward flow of energy from the higher chakras into the Root Chakra. This flow connects us to our physical bodies and the earth, grounding us in the material world.

The triangle also represents the union of the masculine and feminine energies that exist within each of us, emphasizing the importance of balance and harmony in our lives.

Animal Symbolism

The Muladhara, or the root chakra, has always been considered a symbol of strength and wisdom. In Hindu traditions, the elephant has always been considered to share these attributes of strength and wisdom.

There are also not many animals which are harder to move, as it’s heavy feet are like roots, digging into the ground.

The serpent is another animal to be commonly associated with the root chakra. Many cultures have revered the snake and perceived the animal to have some sort of hidden wisdom. Hindu lore was no different, as the symbol of the root chakra depicts a serpent coiled upon itself three and a half times.

This is sometimes thought to be symbolic of the past, present, and future, with the half coil representing time itself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *